Extended Viewer

China and the Future of Equity Allocations

MSCI’s decision to raise the inclusion factor of China A shares in the MSCI Emerging Market Indexes from 5% to 20% throughout 2019 have prompted institutional investors to revisit their exposure to Chinese equities in their policy asset allocation.

We are pleased to invite you to join us for a webinar where Dr. Zhen Wei, Head of China Research at MSCI will elaborate on a framework to think through potential options for China allocation in global and emerging-market portfolios.

Based on a recent MSCI research paper, we analyze and contrast different ways of configuring policy benchmarks, considering two broad options: an “integrated option,” with China as an indispensable part of a wider equity opportunity set; and a “dedicated option,” where China is treated as a separate equity segment, similarly to U.S. equities. No matter which route investors choose, A-share inclusion may significantly impact their approach to asset allocation and portfolio implementation.

Learn more about the research paper -->

August 14, 2019


Time

Session 1
8:30 a.m. IST Mumbai
11:00 a.m. HKT Hong Kong
12:00 p.m. JST Tokyo
1:00 p.m. AEST Sydney
3:00 p.m. NZST Auckland
Register for session 1
Session 2
6:30 a.m. PDT San Francisco
9:30 a.m. EDT New York
2:30 p.m. BST London
3:30 p.m. CEST Paris
5:30 p.m. GST Dubai
Register for session 2

Location

Webex

Event Speakers

Wei Zhen

Executive Director & Head of China Research | MSCI

Read Bio